Monthly Archives: November 2012

England Squad Ready For Blind Cricket World Cup

The England Blind Cricket team are set to fly to India for the Blind Cricket World Cup that starts on 2nd December 2012.

The tour party leave from Heathrow Airport on Monday 26th November, arriving in Bangalore the following morning.

The tournament will be the fourth Blind Cricket World Cup, the first played under the Twenty20 format. England have finished third in all three previous World Cups.

Jimmy Millard is the only player selected for the first time, although both Dave Gavrilovic & Ryan Jones are still uncapped after being unused members of the squad for the 2012 Blind Cricket Ashes. 16 players have been selected with London Metro & Warwickshire Bears each providing 5 players. Luke Sugg, who became the first England Captain from any other club than London Metro when he took charge for the Twenty20 series v Australia after the 2012 Ashes, will continue to captain the side.

As well as doing their best to return home with the trophy the whole England squad will be playing for the memory of their teammate Heindrich Swanepoel who passed away in early October.

The tournament consists of a 9 team group stage, in which England have a run of 7 games in 7 days, with the top 4 teams progressing to the semi finals. The final takes place on December 13th.

The competing nations are: Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Nepal, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka & West Indies.

England Squad
Amit Amin (London Metro)
Peter Blueitt (Yorkshire VICC)
Dave Gavrilovic (Northants Steelbacks)
Hassan Khan (London Metro)
Mahomed Khatri (Warwickshire Bears)

Rob Comber (Kent VICC)
Gavin Dean (London Metro)
Matt Dean (London Metro)
Ryan Jones (London Metro)
Matt Page (Hampshire VICC)

Dan Field (Sussex Sharks)
Justin Hollingsworth (Warwickshire Bears)
James Millard (Sussex Sharks)
Andy Powers (Warwickshire Bears)
Dave Powers (Warwickshire Bears)
Luke Sugg (Captain, Warwickshire Bears)

Head Coach: Chris Porter
Assistant Coach: Bobby Denning
Physio: Fran Clarkson
Team Manager: Martin Dean
ECB National Disability Cricket Manager: Ian Martin
BCEW International Director: Peter Sugg

BCEW Umpire Paul Richardson will also be representing his country as the English representative on the tournament’s umpiring panel.


2013 Cup Draws

2013 Cup Draws

BBS Primary Club National Knockout Cup
Preliminary Round
Nottinghamshire VICC v South Wales Dragons
Nottingham Knights v Hampshire VICC
Lancashire Lions v Durham VICC
Somerset VICC v Northants Steelbacks
Berkshire Stags v Sussex Sharks

Quarter Finals
Game A: Lancashire/Durham v Yorkshire VICC
Game B: Warwickshire Bears v Metro
Game C: Nottingham Knights/Hampshire v Berkshire/Sussex
Game D: Nottinghamshire/South Wales v Somerset/Northants

Semi Finals
Winner Game A v Winner Game B
Winner Game C v Winner Game D

BCEW Twenty20 Cup
Preliminary Round
Nottinghamshire VICC v Lancashire Lions

Quarter Finals
Nottinghamshire/Lancashire v Yorkshire VICC
South Wales Dragons v Warwickshire Bears
Hampshire VICC v Northants Steelbacks
Sussex Sharks v Metro

* Semi Final Draw takes place at Finals Day